Mustard makes everything (except dessert) better

Posted on

DijonMustardMy go-to ingredient of late is Dijon mustard. The condiment can do more than lather a slice of bread for a sandwich. My favorite Dijon combination includes olive oil and sherry vinegar. The mixture lifts roasted or steamed cauliflower to another level and provides a pleasant tang to raw kale for a salad. The combo of Dijon and sherry vinegar is appealing because the vinegar provides a touch of sweetness to mellow the mustard’s acidity. I’ve even spread Dijon atop a salmon fillet. The mustard acts as a glue for fresh herbs atop the fish. Roast the fish in a 425-degree oven for 12 to 14 minutes for a quick lunch or dinner.

On an unrelated note, my aunt and uncle sent a gift basket for Christmas that included a bottle of the 2010 CottonWood Creek Cellars red table wine. The organic blend from Madera, Calif., combines Merlot grapes (29 percent) with “dry red” grapes (71 percent), according to the CottonWood website. The fruit-forward wine tastes like cherries and plums with a touch of tannin. Drink with a burger, red-sauced pasta, or lamb.

Oh, I finished my master’s journalism program at the University of Southern California in December. Thanks for all your prayers.

About bster18

Hello. I am a 35-year-old living in Mission Viejo, Calif. I am a news reporter for the Coastline Pilot, a weekly newspaper in Laguna Beach. I also love to cook, especially desserts. There's nothing better than a piece of apple crisp with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. I have a master's in journalism from the University of Southern California and a bachelor's degree in journalism from Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. My mom is a really great cook and taught me much of what I know. She also gradauted from the same cooking school. As I've grown, I've realized life is uncertain. The saying, "Take it one day at a time," is such a cliche, but it is so true. You never know what tomorrow will bring. Be thankful for today. Embrace life - look for the joy in people and places. Stay close to family and friends. Enjoy the moment. Seek to serve others and love all with a pure heart. Here's to good times, good company and good food.

Leave a comment