Simple shines at Starlight

Posted on

Good Monday morning, though late morning in Massachusetts. I’m on another quest. First it was finding a tasty, pleasing way to prepare turnip greens, cooked or raw (this has stalled for now). Now, it’s finding restaurants that meet four standards (inexpensive, simple food with gourmet flair, healthful, and enough food to comfortably fill your tummy. These criteria came to mind this morning, but perhaps they have lurked in the bowels of the subconscoius for some time. 

Trina’s Starlite Diner in Cambridge, Mass., fulfilled one of the four standards (tasty simple food with gourmet flair). They opened the week prior to my first visit and serve food linked to barbecues and summer (hot dogs, hamburgers, chili fries) with a nod to comfort cooking (fried chicken and waffles, meat loaf (the blue plate special on my visit) and macaroni and cheese topped with Ritz crackers).  Gourmet flair comes from: baked haddock with sweet potato and green onion hash and sauteed spinach ($15); pan-seared sirloin with dirty gravy and onion rings ($19), the most expensive menu item; and a green apple, Brie and arugula pressed sandwich with horseradish dipping sauce ($8). I am warmly greeted at the door and sit at the bar, where Josh, an amiable bartender recommends the sweet corn bread ($3). I’m glad he did.  Crispy crumbles top the moist, buttery, 1/2-inch-thick wedge, which has the right amount of sweetness and is served with honey butter. I then enjoy the dog of the day, a hot dog halved lengthwise, though not all the way through, served in a toasted bread bun with macaroni and cheese sauce and baked beans on the side. Great smoky, sweet flavor on the beans, though one bean is firm. I could go for another dog, but hold back. The bill comes to $12.44 with a beer and I leave $15. Hunger isn’t fully satisfied, but I am pleased with the choices. The prices (for hot dogs, fries, beer ) are comparable with a Major League Baseball stadium. Could be a lesson here: If you’re not willing to spend very much, eat a little something before going out. That way, two appetizers (a hot dog and cornbread) will be enough to satisfy.

Trina’s Starlite Lounge

3 Beacon St.

Somerville, Mass.

(617) 576-0006

trinasstarlitelounge.com

 

Note:

If you find yourself in Back Bay station and in the mood for Mexican food, heat to the burrito and taco cart. I had a vegetable burrito with chunks of steamed broccoli and carrots, black beans, pico de gallo and rice for a respectable $4.75. Watch out for the smoky hot sauce. It has a kick. A group of brothers serves the food from 11 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. Mondays through Fridays.

About bster18

Hello. I am a 35-year-old living in Mission Viejo, Calif. I am a news reporter for the Coastline Pilot, a weekly newspaper in Laguna Beach. I also love to cook, especially desserts. There's nothing better than a piece of apple crisp with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. I have a master's in journalism from the University of Southern California and a bachelor's degree in journalism from Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. My mom is a really great cook and taught me much of what I know. She also gradauted from the same cooking school. As I've grown, I've realized life is uncertain. The saying, "Take it one day at a time," is such a cliche, but it is so true. You never know what tomorrow will bring. Be thankful for today. Embrace life - look for the joy in people and places. Stay close to family and friends. Enjoy the moment. Seek to serve others and love all with a pure heart. Here's to good times, good company and good food.

Leave a comment