New like

Posted on

100_0922

It’s difficult to fathom what I am about to say: I like pecan pie. At least the pecan pie with chocolate chips and bourbon I made last month from a recipe in Molly Wizenberg’s book ,”A Homemade Life: Stories and Recipes from My Kitchen Table.” The recipe originally came from Molly’s Aunt Mia.

Pecan pie used to be my least favorite pie. The thought of liking it never occured to me, until I tried a bite of this pie. But this is an example of a larger question. Why do I suddenly like pecan pie and pate (which resembles liverwurst, that spreadable or sliceable sausage made from a combination of pork liver mixed with other types of pork and meat, which I disliked)? Are there biological, social, reasons for the changing tastes?

With curiosity intact, I called Boston University and spoke with Laura Thompson, a registered dietician at the school’s nutrition and fitness center. In an e-mail, she said that social environments play a key role in our food preferences as children. To that, she added that texture can affect preferences. Pecan pie wasn’t a dessert at our house and I can’t remember where I tried it.  Maybe I didn’t give it a shot. Sorry pecan pie for the neglect. “Braunschweiger” (a type of liverwurst that is usually smoked – we called it liverwurst) from Oscar Mayer,  comes in a log like bulk sausage and was repulsive. I didn’t go for the salted, pureed meat mixture with a texture that rivals softened cream cheese. I longd for the French bread pizza three spots to the left at the lunch table. I took a bite of liverwurst six months ago. It was too salty and rich. But pate, which resembles liverwurst in taste and texture is a different story. I like the stuff. It’s creamy and satisfying on toasted bread. Trader Joe’s sells one that tastes similar to the liverwurst with bits of mushrooms in it that I spread on baguette slices. I had a sweeter version, a chicken liver mousse, purchased at South End Formaggio, a noted cheese shop.

Perhaps my aversion to liverwurst was influenced by wanting other foods at the lunch table. Perhaps too many turkey sandwiches left me wanting a change, for which pate has filled the role. As for pecan pie, I have no explanation. My only guess is that I came across a version with the right proportion of sweetness, nuts and gooey texture.

So I’ll have a piece of pecan pie. Just please don’t set an apple pie next to it.

About bster18

Hello. I am a 35-year-old living in Mission Viejo, Calif. I am a news reporter for the Coastline Pilot, a weekly newspaper in Laguna Beach. I also love to cook, especially desserts. There's nothing better than a piece of apple crisp with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. I have a master's in journalism from the University of Southern California and a bachelor's degree in journalism from Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. My mom is a really great cook and taught me much of what I know. She also gradauted from the same cooking school. As I've grown, I've realized life is uncertain. The saying, "Take it one day at a time," is such a cliche, but it is so true. You never know what tomorrow will bring. Be thankful for today. Embrace life - look for the joy in people and places. Stay close to family and friends. Enjoy the moment. Seek to serve others and love all with a pure heart. Here's to good times, good company and good food.

Leave a comment